Lesson 1 of 3
In Progress


Today Class November 29, 2022

There are 26 letters in English alphabets, which are used in writing to construct words (spelling). But while we speak, according to sounds (phonetic), there are 44 sounds of English alphabets, which are further divided into three parts: Vowels, Consonants and Diphthongs.

A Vowel is a letter, the name of which makes a full open sound.

The Vowels are: a, e, i, o, u.

A Consonant is a letter that has a sound less distinct than that of a Vowel. The Consonants are: b, c, d, f, g, h, j, k, l, m, n, p, q, r, s, t, v, w, x, y, z.

W and y are used as vowels when they do not begin a word or syllable.

The union of two vowels is known as Diphthong, like for example:

oi‘ in the word ‘boil’

ou‘ in the word ‘house’

au‘ in the word ‘author’

What is Word?

Word is a sound or a combination of sounds, or its representation in writing, that symbolizes and communicates a meaning.

A letter is the least part of a word.

If we arrange letters which does not make any sense then it cannot be counted as a word.

For example: cdefg, rstuv, or qrst

But if we arrange letters in such a way, which gives a meaning that can be counted as a word.

For example: cow, bag, book

What is Syllable?

A syllable is a part of a word, or as much as can be sounded at once.

For example:

(A) The word ‘boy’: It is a one syllable word or monosyllable word, which sounds once.

(B) The word ‘farmer’: It comprises two parts like: far and mer. So it is a word of two syllables or a dissyllable word.

(C) The word ‘butterfly’: It comprises three parts like but-ter-fly. So it is a word of three syllables or trisyllable word.